I think you’ll agree with me that Vine has become quite a phenomenon. A short-form video sharing service owned by Twitter, Vine is the place where many people go to share and watch six-second looping video clips, some of which are quite amusing and engaging.
But if you’ve watched one too many vines and have decided that you won’t be active on the service going forward, it might be a good idea to deactivate your account.
In this post, you’ll learn how to deactivate your Vine profile through the mobile app and permanently delete all its underlying data.
About account deletion
After you successfully deactivate your Vine account using the steps outlined in the following section, your profile data and content will live on Vine’s servers for a period of 30 days, hidden from public.
This grace period lets you reactivate your account by logging into Vine’s mobile app or website at any time within the 30-day timeframe. To have your account and its underlying data permanently deleted from Vine’s servers, avoid logging into Vine during that period.
If you don’t log in to Vine for more than 30 days after deactivating it, all your content along with your profile will be deleted for good and Vine won’t be able to recover it.
Vine, unfortunately, doesn’t provide tools to download your content easily so it might be a good idea to save your own Vine videos to a computer prior to deleting your account.
How to deactivate your Vine account
To deactivate your Vine account, you must use the mobile app for iOS, Android or Windows devices. You cannot delete an account using Vine’s web interface on a computer.
Step 1: Launch Vine 1.4.4 or later on your iPhone.
Step 2: Tap on Profile at the bottom to go to your own profile page.
Step 3: Choose Settings.
Step 4: Now select Your content.
Step 5: Tap Deactivate account located at the bottom of the page.
“Your profile and content will be hidden shortly after deactivating,” reads the description.
Step 6: To confirm account deletion, tap Deactivate. You can now delete the Vine app from your iPhone.
As stated by the app, your Vine account can be deactivated by logging in within 30 days. After 30 days, your account and data will be deleted permanently. From that point on, Vine cannot recover your account.
Send us your own tutorial ideas and how-to suggestions at [email protected].